What is the diagnosis code for morbid obesity?

For patients with provider documentation identifying “morbid” obesity, the code E66. 01 (morbid [severe] obesity due to excess calories) can be assigned even if the BMI is not greater than 40, per the Coding Clinic.

What is the ICD-10 code for morbid obesity?

E66. 01 is morbid (severe) obesity from excess calories.

What is the ICD-10 code for obesity class 2?

Morbid (severe) obesity due to excess calories

E66. 01 is a billable/specific ICD-10-CM code that can be used to indicate a diagnosis for reimbursement purposes.

What does E66 9 mean?

2021 ICD-10-CM Diagnosis Code E66. 9: Obesity, unspecified.

What is ICD-10 code E6601?

icd10 – E6601: Morbid (severe) obesity due to excess calories.

What is the code for obesity?

Code E66* is the diagnosis code used for Overweight and Obesity. It is a disorder marked by an abnormally high, unhealthy amount of body fat.

What are the three levels of obesity?

These ranges of BMI are used to describe levels of risk:

  • Overweight (not obese), if BMI is 25.0 to 29.9.
  • Class 1 (low-risk) obesity, if BMI is 30.0 to 34.9.
  • Class 2 (moderate-risk) obesity, if BMI is 35.0 to 39.9.
  • Class 3 (high-risk) obesity, if BMI is equal to or greater than 40.0.
IT IS INTERESTING:  What BMI Should an athlete have?

What is class 3 obesity ICD-10?

When coding overweight and obesity status in ICD-10-CM, the guidelines refer us to E66. – codes.

BMI numbers and statistics.

BMI Weight status
25.0 – 29.9 Overweight
30.0 -35.9 Severe Obesity Class I Obesity
36.0 – 39.99 Morbid Obesity Class II Obesity
40.0 and above Super Obesity Class III Obesity

What is morbidity obesity?

Obesity is a serious disease with symptoms that build slowly over an extended period of time. The National Institutes of Health (NIH) define morbid obesity as: Being 100 pounds or more above your ideal body weight. Or, having a Body Mass Index (BMI) of 40 or greater.

Who obese classification?

For adults, WHO defines overweight and obesity as follows: overweight is a BMI greater than or equal to 25; and. obesity is a BMI greater than or equal to 30.

What does anxiety F41 9 mean?

Code F41. 9 is the diagnosis code used for Anxiety Disorder, Unspecified. It is a category of psychiatric disorders which are characterized by anxious feelings or fear often accompanied by physical symptoms associated with anxiety.

Can E66 9 be a primary diagnosis?

Childhood obesity is a condition where excess body fat negatively affects a child’s health or well-being. As methods to determine body fat directly are difficult, the diagnosis of obesity is often based on BMI.

The ICD code E66 is used to code Childhood obesity.

Specialty: Endocrinology
ICD 9 Code: 278

What is G47 33?

Code G47. 33 is the diagnosis code used for Obstructive Sleep Apnea. It is a sleep disorder characterized by pauses in breathing or instances of shallow breathing during sleep.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Is the obesity epidemic a public health problem?

What is diagnosis code E669?

icd10 – E669: Obesity, unspecified.

What is the ICD 10 code for BMI?

Billing for BMI

ICD-10-CM Code Adult BMI Range
Z68.1 BMI less than 20
Z68.20 BMI 20.0-20.9
Z68.21 BMI 21.0-21.9
Z68.22 BMI 22.0-22.9

Can obesity be a primary diagnosis?

However, obesity is a chronic disease that is underdiagnosed in clinical practice. Fewer than 30% of adults with obesity are thought to receive the diagnosis during their primary care visit.

Focused on fitness